Intro to Networked Collaboration

Online Tools- extra tips I came across

I want to share some tips that helped me with this course, and that I found while working on projects this semester.

For photo editing, take a look at Picnik.com which is a browser-based photo editor. It does wonders and is so simple to use! I’d even suggest editing pictures on their site, and transforming them into animations in jumpcut!

Also, I have created my own social network for my company though Ning. Ning enables anyone to develop their own “facebook” for free! There is a lot of creativity you can add, in adition to their templates if you know a bit of html. Otherwise its still pretty simple despite the ability for video uploading, blogging, forums, groups, and plenty of other bells and whistles.

SnagIt is a screen capture software that was awesome for these projects! It allows you to capture any part of the screen you want and manipulate the picture through their tools. Usually they charge, but there was a 30 day trial I tried and it made mashups and online collaboration a sinch.

And Twiddla is an online whiteboard which I found best for business. Brett and I used it for our group project. People can log-in from any computer and collaborate on the same “whiteboard” in real time, commenting on pictures, uploading shared documents, and all sorts of things that eliminate the job of a fax machine… and wasted paper!

Another thing to keep an eye out for, especially you students taking physical courses, are free online sources that will convert pictures you take on your cell phones of notes on a whiteboard, into digital notes. Snap a few pics of the board on your way out of class, upload them using the software, and print them out or review them from your computer!

I always like hearing about these kinds of things that are very useful, so if any of you come across a great online tool that makes life and work easier, keep in touch…

 

kelley

December 17, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Thanks for the tool tips, kelley. I’ve used SnagIt at work and it’s a great capture tool. I’m checking out twiddla now and it looks really cool. Will definitely be using it in the future.

    Comment by nancyajones | December 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

