Intro to Networked Collaboration

Mashup – Erin & Berry

Berry and I began our project with a single photo of some railroad tracks.  I cut the photo in half and spliced in another photo of a single set of railroad tracks with a railroad crossing sign.  Berry turned the photo into a movie clip with some narration that begins, “Much of the world’s freight is transported by train.”  He later added some music and some photo clips of brick walls with graffiti.  I am an audio editing fanatic, so I mashed up some railroad sounds, some other music clips, and a couple of my own vocals with Berry’s audio.  (I used my favorite audio editing program, Adobe Audition– if you do audio editing on a regular basis, I highly recommend it!)  I also love Windows Movie Maker, so I recorded Berry’s existing video clip with CamStudio (video capture software) and loaded it into WMM to do some editing.  I added a lot of effects and transitions, and spliced in some more train shots, interspersed among the shots of the graffitied wall.  Berry’s original audio track ends with this verse:

She had a mental problem
She couldn’t concentrate
She was her own delusion
She was her own mistake
She did a lot of acid
To put the voices down
And one day on her birthday
They found her hanging upside down

It sort of felt to me like these words were describing the face on the graffiti wall that Berry had uploaded, so this video sort of morphed into a piece about a girl’s life that was careening towards its end in the same way that a train careens across a trestle.  I played around with splicing images of the face with images of a train approaching.  I tacked the opening “Much of the world’s freight is transported by train” onto the end again because “freight” and “transported” seemed to have a different significance in the context of a girl ending her own life.

I’m still not able to upload video to Jumpcut– sorry!  The video seems to play the best on Facebook, but you have to be logged in to see it:  http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=54750930943

I also put it on Jaycut here: http://jaycut.com/video/304114/preview but sometimes it doesn’t load all the way to the end… not sure why!

I’m also about to attempt to convert it to a Quicktime file and put it on my own site here: http://www.erinmcintyre.com/networkedcollab.html but I’m going to publish this post first so I get it in by midnight!!!  Hopefully this last link will be up within 20 minutes and one of the three will work for you!  Thanks for a fantastic class, everyone!

Erin

December 16, 2008 - Posted by | final, mashup | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

