Intro to Networked Collaboration

SL Event(s)

The Pencil Factory Gallery Event: dec 9th

Had a RL event where I took 10 friends to the Gallery today: dec 12th

One of the guides in this Dec 9th SL Event at The Pencil Factory Gallery described some of the goals of the gallery as well as gave us information on the artist’s blog and website:
[18:17]  Fia Zapatero: …interested in exploring issues of creating value in virtual worlds…
[18:17]  Fia Zapatero: the relationship between online and offline worlds…
[18:18]  Fia Zapatero: and the potential for virtual worlds to serve as public spaces.
[18:18]  Fia Zapatero: The Pencil Factory is a gallery created by one artist- Angrybeth Shortbread
[18:19]  Fia Zapatero: her blog: http://www.angrybethshortbread.blogspot.com/
her website: http://www.annamorphic.co.uk

But I also recall our other guide discussing ‘telepresence’: how present your avatar feels in SL as being an important goal of the gallery viewing. I think they nailed it terms of creating value in a virtual world as well as using the virtual world as a public space. The gallery was very interactive and in many cases, such as the green space where the group created music or the room where we could push each other and objects around, we were directly interacting with each other. It was actually kind of frustrating to be in a group at the large typewriter because we ended up writing jibberish with everyone typing at the same time. As you can see, I felt really present.

I loved the floating cubes of dance music and the room designed to be a zen relaxation environment. And I actually created my own event… I took friends back to the gallery this evening after I got off work. I was in the bar which has internet connection and I was telling some friends about the experience. We decided to check it out… and a large group formed. (One of them created an Avatar on SL but was too new to get into the gallery.) We danced and meditated. Different folks played on the computer with my Avatar. The group got a big kick out of it and many said they wanted to go back as characters and go thru the gallery together within Second Life. I thought it was an excellent event the first time with the guides and the high level of telepresence but to have a second get together in RL where we were all participating in the gallery with just the one character was very interesting too and ended up being a great way for us to connect as a group and experience visual and virtual art in RL. I now want to create a music concert in SL and have it displayed locally on a large video screen at the bar I work at. I think that would be very interesting to have a concert without the musicians physically playing in RL but playing for people all over the world (as well as where they live) in SL. I also look forward to returning to The Pencil Factory!

December 12, 2008 - Posted by | events

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

