Intro to Networked Collaboration

jumpcut final project

So working on this final project has been an interesting experience.  Our group ended up with 4 members which is good from the perspective of having lots of ideas and input. On the down side it made scheduling any group meetings difficult.

After the initial email process of connecting as a group, we tried to connect a few times in secondlife. The most successful of those for me was the time we stayed in the theatre on funksoup island after the class meeting in secondlife.  Plumeria and Stephanie have already described this meeting on the blog, so I won’t go into detail. There was a second, secondlife meeting will the three other group members that I unfortunately missed, which seemed to be successful as well.

During our secondlife meeting we discussed theme ideas for the final mashup project and decided to take photos of locations in which we live or have visited and put together a jumpcut of locations with still images and sound.

Plumeria started the file with some beautiful shots of hawaii. All of her images were of nature in some way… ocean, volcano, tree.  I had planned on using some images from a recent trip to france and after seeing Plumeria’s images I decided to use only images of stone and steel construction from france in direct contrast to the nature of Hawaii.

The process of using jumpcut was fairly simple.  The site is pretty user friendly.  That said I probably should have watched some sort of tutorial before jumping in.  I started editing the clip Plumeria started and was playing around and ended up messing up some of the settings she used on her images. At first I was a bit worried about this and then I realized that this is part of the process.  Anything I add is changing the piece so if I changed some of her original settings, it was OK.  The other members of our group will probably change my settings when they add their images, and that’s OK too.

Once I finished editing the images, transitions, actions etc… I tried to edit the audio.  Plumeria had added an audio file and I tried to add an Edith Piaf (famous french singer) song for my images thinking it would be neat to have different music for the different images but it didn’t work.  Once I uploaded the audio, it played both files at the same time. Turns out (as far as I know) you can’t restrict the audio per image at least using jumpcut’s features. I ended up just removing the Piaf file so it wouldn’t be confusing for a viewer.

So at this point, I’m looking forward to seeing what happens with our project and how it changes through the process.  Who knows, maybe another jumpcut user will edit or remix our work… wouldn’t that be interesting!  That’s it for now.

December 8, 2008 - Posted by | final, mashup | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Since this post we have added more images to our mashup. I had quite a bit of difficulty this time around. I was able to add sound files but had some issues with the placement and timing of them. Ultimately, this project has been a good experience. I enjoyed the images my teammates have posted and also sharing my photos as well. While working on this project I thought about the possibility of using it again in the future to share slideshows of images with friends and family.

    Comment by Stacey | December 14, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

