Intro to Networked Collaboration

Events

I recently went to 2 events that I was invited to on facebook. Ever since events were created on facebook everyone has been using them to plan their own events. I invited people to my last two Birthday parties through facebook. It has been quite convenient for me. It’s nice to get event invitations because there’s almost always an event that I could possibly attend. The last 2 events that I attended from facebook was a friend’s Birthday party and a Thanksgiving eve party.

I had a lot of fun at the Thanksgiving party because I saw a lot of old friends/acquaintances that I haven’t seen in years. It’s fun to look at the facebook event to see who’s coming out of the people who were invited. Not only that, but since it was an open invite, you could invite as many people as you want and/or bring them along with you. Therefore I invited a bunch of my friends, many of which came. These facebook events have all the information for the event on one page and they are so simple to create. The party itself was a blast. My brother’s friends do it every year at the same venue and I went last year, so I knew what to expect. A lot more people showed up this year. All in all, I’m glad that I went.

As for the Birthday party, it was for a not so close friend of mine. She’s actually more of a friend of a friend. However, she invited me on facebook so I figured I’d check it out. This was actually last night. It was pretty far away and I brought some friends with me. She had specifically told us that we had to be there by 11:30pm so that women wouldn’t get charged for cover. But, when we got there we were informed that there was a Bar-Mitzvah until 12am. My friend was not informed of this. Therefore, my friends and I decided not to stay. I didn’t know anyone going anyway. And I knew about who was going through the event page on facebook.

What I find really interesting is that if something is going on there is usually an event for it on facebook now matter what kind of event it is. It replaces the need to call or send a letter through the mail. Now there are even websites that are made for weddings where all the information that you need to know about the wedding is right there on the website.

I also know from a facebook event that Starbucks is donating 5 cents for every beverage bought for the Global Fund to help save lives in Africa. This is going on for the entire month!

That’s all I want to say for right now. Enjoy your events!

November 30, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

