Intro to Networked Collaboration

Class in Second Life

So I’ve been trying to post this for the longest time but for some reason my browser would not let me update the blog. 

 

So anyways here is my 2 cents on the second life meeting for class.

 

I though the whole thing was really interesting. Luckily we had listed off our second life names on the wiki page so it made things easier for me to find someone I knew from the class. 

So like Plumeria has mention it was really hard to not interact as much during the class session but having to listen. Rafi has a lot of interesting things to say and watching the video of the kids working with second life  on a archeological expedition in another country is such a cool idea. I did not know that second life could be that involved.

I think I might have scared my roommate when I was responding and telling a little about myself. Because I share a room with 2 other people she thought I was talking to myself and I think it might have freaked her out a little.

Plumeria brought up a good point that not being able to have much interaction and having to listen more defiantly made the session a little more hard to focus. I had noticed my SL charter had slouched over so I had to move the mouse around so that she would be sitting upright again. I felt so tempted to just get up from the sitting position and run around in a circle and then sit down again.

So after the class session Plumeria, Stacy and I stayed and chatted a bit. It was fun to be able to type and give my 2 cents in regards to the conversation. It was difficult only because I felt so awkard to talk while my roommate was in the room. I guess that is why I am not a HUGE fan of video chatting, skype, or talking in secondlife…the feeling of being rude while others are doing something in the room. 

I think that there should be more classes held in second life.

November 27, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

