Intro to Networked Collaboration

Twitter Connections via Search

I’ve been getting into Twitter on a daily basis now to find out information on photographers and events that might be happening in the city. A useful way of search for new tweets to follow has been to use the Search link on the banner at the bottom of the page and enter the search terms “photography”, “photographer”, or “photographs”. Through those I found someone had mentioned the documentary series In Harm’s Way. I’ve admired the work of James Nachtwey, Robert Capa, Margaret Bourke-White and others. By putting their names in the search box I can find links to what others are saying about them, news about gallery shows or new images on the web. Through a tweet I discovered Matt Armendariz who specializes in food photography and also runs a humorous and informative food blog, Matt Bites. I was so inspired by his photographs that I’ve written him an email telling him so. So who knows, maybe he’ll write me back. But even if not, it’s exciting to be as close as an email to artists I admire.
UPDATE: Matt Armendariz responded to my email with some very kind words of encouragement. To my classmates: if someone you admire has put their email on the web, use it! You have nothing to lose and a new contact to gain.

November 18, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Thanks for the great post. I will have to do the same as I am into photography as well! I didn’t make this conversation at the Guggenheim b/w Catherine Opie and Gregory Crewden that was earlier this week but here’s the link and the exhibition is still ongoing so you can check it out! http://zine.artcal.net/2008/12/catherine-opie-and-gregory-cre.php

    Comment by unoq | December 10, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

