Intro to Networked Collaboration

Second Life

wow.. so i just used second life for the first time this morning. i tried using it on my laptop at my apartment but the program freezes my computer. however, i am in NJ right now so i got to use my parents computer to go on second life. my first reaction to all of it was that i had no idea what i was doing. i spent most of my time going up to people and chatting with them.. i met someone from Turkey, another person from Ireland, and a few others. one guy was speaking Italian to me and i had no clue what he was saying. i couldn’t find anyone from the US. It also seemed like there were a lot of older guys trying to hit on me even though they didn’t know what i actually look like! it was reallly creepy! i even chatted with someone on my microphone just to test it out. in general my first impression from the program was that it is very dangerous because there are a lot of freaks out there. i didn’t put any personal information on there, however, i don’t even know how to. i wonder if this will be more accepted in the future because right now it scares me. i spoke to a few friends about it and they all think it is a bad idea. i think i need to explore it a little more to get a better judgment of it all. besides talking to people, i explored the world and flew around. as much as i hate to admit it, it could get very addicting. maybe it’s a good thing that it doesn’t work on my laptop!

i also took a few snapshots 😛

i would love to hear what everyone has to say about it.. by the way..as a reminder, my name on there is REL Gothly.

bye for now! 🙂

November 16, 2008 - Posted by | culture

1 Comment »

  1. Hi isrellyrel,

    I have generally been suspicious of all these shared personal spaces, but I feel that Second Life is really not scary (you know when it comes to being stalked by strange men). It’s better than being in person, cause no one knows what you really look like, & you can change your appearance anytime. Also, you can just leave whenever you want and say no more than you want. Not to mention all the learning and visual opportunities!

    Comment by plumeria35 | November 16, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

