Intro to Networked Collaboration

Skype Virgin No more! (Thanks Nancy)

So Nancy and I just had our first  Skype meeting. Here are my thoughts on Skype:

 

Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Where has this been all my life? I have to admit here that many friends have suggested it to me but I didn’t think it would be so clear.

 

I could see and hear Nancy perfectly. In fact the sound quality was excellent. I Am going to try an international call with it to see if the quality is good there too.

 

Only tricky bit is that we are both looking at each other on the screen and my built in web-cam in above the screen so the eye contact is not really felt.

 

Hope everyone had an equally satisfying experience.

October 14, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

1 Comment »

  1. I share your enthusiasm. Living abroad, not able to afford international phone calls I’ve kept in touch with family and friends on a regular basis thanks to skype over the last 3 years. And the product keeps getting better!

    Now they have skype cell-phones. Only downside is you dont receive calls unless you are in a wifi spot, however with more and more businesses, and even whole cities sporting free wireless, its a great future investment.

    Also, I love that I can get a telephone number with the area code I want for friends to call (it rings my skype account on the computer) and it charges them local rates!

    -avid skype fan

    Comment by kelboa | October 17, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

