Intro to Networked Collaboration

Google will take over the world.

In advance I am sorry if some of you know this already. I thought it was interesting and I should share.

So with the topic of Google I thought I’d put my 2 cents in and share what I know and have been researching actually for another class about Google. 

So I was looking around googles website (iGoogle a homepage for its user with an account) and with being logged into my Gmail account I was allowed to access the more features that google has.

Aside from its many sub-brands (Blogger, YouTube, Groups, Picasa) all networking tools, they have also created Knol & orkut.

For me I think that it is interesting that Google has taken it to the level of joining and adding another form of social networking to the companies big resume. 

Knol like Wiki, allows users to post what they “know”. HA-HA very clever Google. So from my understanding of Knol its basically another Wiki. 

Incase some of you are interested in what Knol has t offer this comes directly from the website. 

“Knol offers:

  • Ease of use
    All you need is an account, a name and a desire to write and we’ll take care of the rest.
  • Control
    You specify the level of collaboration you want with the community. Your knol, your voice.
  • Community
    You can connect with other experts in your area of interest to share and grow knowledge.
  • Visibility
    We value and promote authorship. Great content will be visible on any search engine.
  • Growth
    Sharing your knowledge with the world is rewarding for everyone.”
So orkut is a social networking tool just like Myspace, Facebook, Friendster, the list will go on forever. This is what orkut has to say about its self.
“orkut is an online community designed to make your social life more active and stimulating. orkut’s social network can help you maintain existing relationships with pictures and messages, and establish new ones by reaching out to people you’ve never met before.
orkut makes it easy to find people who share your hobbies and interests, look for romantic connections or establish new business contacts. You can also create and join a wide variety of online communities to discuss current events, reconnect with old school mates or even exchange your favorite recipes.
Who you interact with is entirely up to you. Before getting to know an orkut member, you can read their profile and even see how they’re connected to you through the friends network.
To join orkut, simply sign in with your Google Account and you can begin to create your own profile right away. If you do not have a Google Account yet, we will help you create one in minutes.
It is our mission to help you create a closer, more intimate network of friends. We hope to put you on the path to social bliss soon.
Enjoy (= “

So for those of you intrested in either one of these networking tools that Google has to offer I will share and post links.

orkut

Knol

With all that said and done, I’d just like to add one last thing and that is…

Google I am ready for you to put a microchip into my brain and let my brain process on a Google platform. (=

October 9, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Sometimes I wonder if Google has the capacity to take-on the entire cyber world and uphold its reputation of having good-quality service. I’ve been an avid google supported for some time, until encountering google apps. I decided to use google applications to manage my Business e-mail accounts and domain name, since they teamed up with GoDaddy for certain account.

    It was and is incredibly unsatisfactory. I have an account with Godaddy and with Goodle, which means pin’s and passcodes for each, when I thought I was getting into business with just one party. Even worse, when I contact GoDaddy, their in-house google representative usually can not answer my troubleshooting quarrels and directs me to the google help pages. Well, I’ve encountered 2 problems already that are not covered on the help pages, and Google has no service telephone to contact unless you are a “premuim” customer and paying well over an average account.

    It doesn’t even stop there. I have had considerable issues receiving mail at my business account which is registered under my company’s name through GoDaddy “gofilm@kelboa.com” but supported by gmail. Somewhere between GoDaddy and Gmail there are screws loose and no one is taking the effort to pick them up.

    In the past companies that spread themselves too thin in order to penetrate the market don’t have happy endings when they cut the quality short to do so.

    Comment by kelboa | October 9, 2008 | Reply

  2. That’s interesting that Google teamed up with GoDaddy. Do you know how long ago this was when the two teamed up together?

    Bummer to hear that there are lose screws in that section of the company. To bad the engineers that are making email addiction blocks and the creating the game Snake cannot solve little and irritating things like that.

    Comment by itsstephanie | October 9, 2008 | Reply

  3. Just over one year ago. You could purchase your domain through GoDaddy and have google applications for the account. But like I said, just made for too many things in different places without much consistency or solid technical assistance. GoDaddy was a help every time I called, until it was a matter that “only google could take care of” even though their in-house rep was well-equip to handle troubleshooting from the merger.

    Comment by kelboa | October 10, 2008 | Reply

  4. I never took to Orkut because it did not have the privacy settings that facebook has. On Orkut, you could access anyone’s page, photos…and you had full access.

    Scary. They lost a lot of people to facebook because of this. I wonder if they have changed their settings to match facebook’s capabilities.

    Comment by ayvak | October 13, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

