Intro to Networked Collaboration

Wikipedia posts

Let’s start the conversation about our Wikipedia posts.  It’s interesting. I’ve never contributed to any other postings on Wikipedia. I really didn’t know what to write about.  I decided to write a little about the company I work for since the information was outdated as the company has been through a lot of changes in the past year. So I created an account on Wikipedia and made a few updates. 

 

In reviewing my changes I noticed that I had misspelled a word in the posting, but I decided to leave it to see what would happen. I checked the history a couple of days after I posted the updates but there was no change. I again checked back yesterday and noticed that my error had been corrected… by another member of our class (thanks Arielle)!

 

I’m glad to see that someone noticed and corrected my posting but I am also wondering if we weren’t reviewing these as part of this class, how long would it have taken before anyone noticed. 

 

What have been your experiences?

October 5, 2008 - Posted by | collaboration, education, Uncategorized |

3 Comments »

  1. Hey, Stacey – I noticed that Arielle corrected that too. 🙂 I think that how soon something gets corrected or edited, greatly depends on how ‘hot’ of a topic it is.

    For example, the Wikipedia entry on Sarah Palin shows us the dynamics of a historical timeline. The things that are most debated show us the interests of the current time. It’s a kind of “swarming” behavior, inherent in a network. When you look directly at Sarah Palin’s page for example, you’ll see that it’s edited almost as often as every couple of minutes — very dynamic, organized swarming behavior around temporal events — a network in action.

    Comment by funksoup | October 5, 2008 | Reply

  2. I found Wikipedia a little intimidating at first. I’m still confused about how to add citations or if you’ve researched content from the Internet, how to make sure that the website you took the information from gets the credit for it.

    I added a paragraph to the general introduction section of Kali – the indian goddess.

    Another question I have is that, when you start a new topic to write about, how do you create the contents section so that you can create the subsections with titles. Does Wiki do that or is it done by the person? If so, how do you add a subsection?

    Comment by ayvak | October 7, 2008 | Reply

  3. Sure thing! 😉

    I definitely wonder how long it would take for a correction to be made if we weren’t working on this for class.

    I’m about to blog about my experience on Wikipedia!

    Comment by isrellyrel | October 9, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

