Intro to Networked Collaboration

Posted on Seesmic, mixed feelings so far…

Just made my first posting on Seesmic, and I have to say it’s a bit unsettling to have video of myself floating around on the internet.  Some people have that performer bug – I prefer to be behind the camera.

It’s a very interesting site and interface – is there a way to have multiple person chats at once?  I’m not sure how the site would be beneficial from a business collaboration standpoint – I think Skype is pretty great for video chat in that arena.  I did a little research on other video sites and found some mentions of Stickcam, but I’m not sure if that’s a softcore webcam deal or a bonafide videocasting site.

I look forward to hearing how everyone else feels about the experience – I know there have to be a few actors in our group!
~berry

September 24, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. I have a skype account!
    The cool thing about it is that you can talk to anyone anywhere in the word on webcam and with a mic free of charge.
    It’s a pretty sick program.
    I mostly use it to talk to my cousins in Israel. It’s crazy how we can just sit down in front of our computers and have a conversation with someone who is halfway across the world.
    I think more people should be introduced to skype.

    Comment by isrellyrel | September 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. Funny, I was about to respond to the above statement to say how much I prefer skype. The idea of having a video out there that anyone can see is unsettling for me too, unless I was giving a lecture or an interview that’s job-related. Its a great tool for lectures (although I think the seesmic site needs some work, I don’t think its navigation our structure is optimal). As for skype, I no longer use my phone over here in switzerland because it costs me 2cents a minute (or less!) to call friends and family in the states. And to call my friends here, they all have skype instead of house phones. I was thinking how slightly ridiculous its gotten when my sister was walking around with her computer to show me her new apartment at her first semester of college out in Arizona.

    I’m huge fan of the product, the company, and the innovations skype keeps coming out with. They’ve got me hooked and its utilities like this that keep making the world smaller and still affordable.

    Comment by kelboa | September 28, 2008 | Reply

  3. oh, and as for seesmic I’d like to see some constructive things done with it. Maybe step by step how to build a wooden boat, or travelers from destination to destination keeping a video journal. I think you could use a platform like this for some interesting performances too. Haven’t heard of anything yet, but I’m sure there will be some savvy people out there coming up with ways video posts can be used as a medium…

    Comment by kelboa | September 28, 2008 | Reply

  4. I’ll address Berry’s actor question! I’m someone who’s done a lot of live theatre, as well as some film and TV, and I must say that I find it unsettling to be “unscripted”! I’m most comfortable when I have lines that I’ve learned and rehearsed. As a result, I did several takes before I was happy enough with my video to post it on Seesmic.

    Comment by smartscrutiny | September 28, 2008 | Reply

  5. It seems to be that Seesmic is more of a conversation app rather than a how-to kind of application. In Seesmic the videos run in threads and don’t appear to be sorted in any way. They’re just connected by conversational threads. You can’t do a search by topic, only by users. YouTube is better suited for instructional types of videos because of how the site is structured into Channels and Communities. I do enjoy the instant responses on the less serious conversations. I was pleasantly surprised to find the Howard Rheingold videos and how they’ve added a “real” voice to the book we’re reading.

    Comment by nancyajones | October 2, 2008 | Reply

  6. berry: You’re right. It’s a little strange. I have participated in other types of social networking, but have not really created video of myself until now. I am thinking about it as a healthy way to possibly be more aware of how I may come off to others in real life, and of course a way to talk to you guys since we are not in a traditional class. I think that it could be fun, but there are so many ways to communicate with your friends in a conversation, I wonder if seesmic will be able to find a niche and develop further in the future.

    Comment by unoq | October 3, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

