Intro to Networked Collaboration

Seemic.com

So i posted my first video and…well i think the website is a cool idea…but a little weird. I guess I’m just not used to the idea of recording myself and seeing everything. Weird…

 

I think Seemic is a great tool because I can do videos for my family and friends back at home so everyone knows how I am doing. It’s also its a great way to have my parents stop IMing me on AIM 🙂

 

So that was my little rant and the end.

September 22, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

6 Comments »

  1. I posted my intro too. Maybe its the vain-ness in me but posting videos of yourself can be likened to taking passport pictures. They never seem to flatter you!

    Honestly, I find the whole medium a little too revealing. I’ve been communicating with others and I find myself noticing their environments, the props around them, their attire, their mannerisms….

    Its a little too exposing for me but maybe I will get used to it.

    Comment by ayvak | September 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. Also wanted to mention, they have Candle Light Seesmic sessions on Sunday night. Scoot (this guy I met on Seesmic) made me aware of it. Its about 7pm California time.

    Might be interesting to log in and scope it out?

    Comment by ayvak | September 24, 2008 | Reply

  3. I posted my intro last night and had a response 2 minutes later! This morning I got the emails that there are more responses but have not yet been able to watch them. It was very strange getting such immediate response from someone I don’t know.

    The whole process of recording the video was wierd. I had to stop and start over 3 times cause I didn’t know what to say. It’s unnerving to see your self on the screen like that…

    I can think of situations in which this site might be particulary useful but so far I don’t see it as especially relevant or helpful in my everyday life. What about you?

    Comment by scollins99 | September 25, 2008 | Reply

  4. I agree. It seems a little irrelevant. If it had a video conferencing capability where two people could correspond in real time, I would find it quite useful and could understand how it could be used for work and play.

    Comment by ayvak | September 25, 2008 | Reply

  5. I’m definitely no newbie to social media but it kind of freaked me out a bit when I immediately had four different people reply to my first video post. Then a couple of them launched into their own conversation about Billy Ray Cyrus. It’s kind of cool but I feel like there’s a big difference between the way I put myself out there with Twitter or my blog and the way I put myself out there with video of myself online.

    Comment by justincharles | September 25, 2008 | Reply

  6. RE: Justin – I don’t really put myself out there on the web, it makes me uncomfortable to have my image/info out there for anyone to see. I don’t blog or even really have much of a presence on the social networking sites. But I have to say I’ve been checking the Seesmic site everyday to see who posted a video. I don’t actually have a webcam… I borrowed a computer to create my post. But I think if I had one I’d have responded to other people already. So I find myself conflicted between not wanting to put too much of myself out there and being really engaged by these videos and wanting to participate.

    Stacey

    Comment by Stacey | September 26, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

