Intro to Networked Collaboration

Weeks 1-2 comments

First, thanks for emailing your processes. I am thoroughly confused and overwhelmed by all this technology.  I’m 31 years old and feeling very “old fashioned” when confronted by all of these sites.  I must say however that setting up my delicious account has been very helpful in identifying and organizing these sites.  I have been traveling the last 2 weeks and am a bit delinquent in my postings so here’s everything so far… (at least I think it’s everything!)

 

Discussion Topics from week 1:

  • Referring to the Jenkins quote, “YouTube is the fullest embodiment of convergence culture”…   If convergence occurs in the brain of a consumer and through his/her social interaction, then I think he means that YouTube allows consumers to post their own content (amateur or professional) and seek out the content of others. You can also comment and read others comments on the content. So not only does it allow you to access the information you chose it allows you to interact with other regarding that particular content.
  •  My understanding of “Participatory Culture”  as referenced in the Jenkins reading is simply a shift  from what he called “passive …spectatorship” to a more involved and interactive society where we don’t just sit and wait for our media to be delivered to us, but we seek it out if different ways through different vehicles.
  • I personally am very new to the world of social networks.  Last year I created a LinkedIn account.  I created this account to keep in touch with and build a network of professional colleagues. I put in the most basic information possible and have only updated it once to change my job title.  Same for Facebook. I created a Facebook account for work and entered very little personal information.  Call me a control freak but I’m not comfortable putting all my info out there.  I would also consider the online chat function within Gmail social networking as I use it to keep in occasional contact with former co-workers that I rarely speak to.
  • These technologies and websites (texting, YouTube, MySpace) have certainly influenced the way we interact. I know that when I first head of MySpace I felt like I was “too old” for it.  It was something the “kids” were doing and I wasn’t interested in joining. Now I have profiles on 2 networking sites. I have realized that I am slow to adopt these new technologies and while I am not very willing to disclose my own information I recently have begun to view friends’ profiles in facebook to see what they’re up to since we don’t speak often. And that makes it ok not to speak to each other for extended periods of time and just “keep tabs” on one another with a networking site. I feel like this could be removing us from connecting with each other on a personal intimate level and allowing us to superficially connect with more people in a larger virtual area as geography really is no longer relevant.  Or maybe it’s allowing us to remain connected or to re-connect to someone we might otherwise lose touch with.  I guess you can view it from either perspective.
  • Another thought regarding the generation of users growing up with this constant connectivity.  Professionally, I am seeing the entry level workforce of recent college graduates who only reach decision by consensus whether it’s with friends or parents these young professionals have to get multiple opinions on almost every decision before they can make a move.  Not sure what this means but I’m finding it an interesting side effect of networked life.
September 18, 2008 - Posted by | culture, social networking, tools and methodologies

3 Comments »

  1. Interesting point about the entry level workforce. A friend of mine has been a college English professor for more than 20 years and she’s having similar experiences with today’s students. Most students entering college today have grown up in a “networked” environment, with the ability to get multiple answers to any question at the push of a button. My friend notes that compared to students of fifteen years ago, today’s students seem to have few ideas/opinions of their own. She theorizes that this is because they just don’t have to think very much. Why work out an answer for yourself when you can text 300 of your closest friends and ask what they would do?! This is kind of scary for me because I consider myself an intelligent, well-read gal who can think for herself. Am I a dying breed?

    Comment by smartscrutiny | September 19, 2008 | Reply

  2. I just re-read my post and it struck me that some of the people in our class are part of the age group that scollins99 and I are talking about. Do you have thoughts about how having easy access to so many opinions changes how you think? (Just for the record, I certainly didn’t mean to imply that you don’t have any ideas of your own!!! It’s just a theory!)

    Comment by smartscrutiny | September 19, 2008 | Reply

  3. I am not going to lie about this one. I am 21 years old, so I know what you’re talking about. I have been using the internet ever since I entered middle school and I agree that having this easy access changes how you think. I will say that I can still think for myself, but sometimes it’s nice when I can have all of the answers. These days we have more options and it can be a good thing, but also a bad thing.
    I believe there are those who don’t let this interfere with how they think. But as more and more people are getting used to this “networked” environment, it’s becoming a lot harder to do so.

    Comment by isrellyrel | September 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

