Intro to Networked Collaboration

Final Project: Musical Computer Collaboration

Well, I wasn’t able to secure a partner, so I spent some time improvising the past couple days and decided to collaborate with my computer to create random regenerations of past musical works.  It was an “exquisite corpse” of sorts with the computer audio software Propellerhead Reason.  I took a beat and a few melodies I had already created and randomly “re-grooved” and “re-generated” audio signals according to the softwares limits and presets to produce effectual communication.  The process is very variable but is controlled by increments and quantization of notes.  I had tried this before, but not to this extent.  I think the end product is a subtly interesting audio connection.  I included pictures on the slide to show the software programs presets and sequencer and was able to mesh them in jumpcut.

Seth

http://www.jumpcut.com/view/?id=E8B696AE1B9E11DD87C8000423CF0184

May 6, 2008 - Posted by | final

1 Comment »

  1. Hi, Seth- interesting ‘workaround’ – I’m glad you found a way to make it work!

    Comment by funksoup | May 16, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

