Intro to Networked Collaboration

Planning the Project

Tracy and I were just discussing how we were going to go about doing the class project while we were on Second life.  We’re both a bit nervous about how to approach it, but I think we’ve worked out a rough schedule about how to get things done.  I am very excited to see where our creativity will lead us to.

Heres: a snipet of our conversation.

[18:17]  Terez Nightfire: put we could use random photos

[18:17]  Terez Nightfire: of places

[18:17]  Terez Nightfire: people

[18:17]  Terez Nightfire: things

[18:17]  You: I can post the first one

[18:17]  Terez Nightfire: it doesnt have to be cohesive does it

[18:17]  You: I’ve never done it before, have you?

[18:17]  Terez Nightfire: just look “good”

[18:17]  Terez Nightfire: nope

[18:17]  You: Its a creation of collaborated art

[18:18]  You: It doesn’t even have to look good.

[18:18]  Terez Nightfire: then we should be fine

[18:18]  You: beuaty isn’t what we’re going for

[18:18]  You: the interest of the collaboration

[18:18]  Terez Nightfire: lol

[18:18]  Terez Nightfire: ok

[18:18]  Terez Nightfire: you post for

[18:18]  Terez Nightfire: and ill try to give some thought to it before posting my add on

[18:18]  Terez Nightfire: maybe something can happen organically

[18:19]  You: I will try to post this Monday

[18:19]  You: exactly

[18:19]  You: ‘If not, for sure on Wednesday.

[18:19]  You: Tuesday I am flying and I’m not sure what will happen

[18:19]  Terez Nightfire: no worries

[18:19]  You: Excellent1

[18:19]  Terez Nightfire: would it be easier for me to post first over the weekend?

[18:20]  Terez Nightfire: either way im fine

[18:20]  You: do you know how to capture some of this, to put on the blog?

[18:20]  You: this is definitely credit

[18:20]  Terez Nightfire: yes i will capture screen shot of conversation

[18:20]  You: Fantstic!

[18:21]  You: Smile!

[18:21]  You: Did it work?

[18:21]  Terez Nightfire: no

[18:21]  Terez Nightfire: 🙂

[18:21]  You: Can we copy and paste?

[18:22]  You: It says snapshot on the bottom of my screen

[18:22]  You: It says I can take a shot and add it to a disk or inventory

[18:23]  Terez Nightfire: i saved a bitmap to my harddrive

[18:23]  You: It says I just saved a snapshot to my harddrive

[18:23]  Terez Nightfire: but its not text

[18:23]  Terez Nightfire: its a snapshot of secondlife page

April 10, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

7 Comments »

  1. Sorry its so long!!!

    Comment by jennstar13 | April 10, 2008 | Reply

  2. Thanks for posting.

    The jumpcut project is new to me. It will allow us to collaborate and create unique art using the “mashup” technique. I look forward to it and we’ll keep you posted.

    Comment by tra2008 | April 10, 2008 | Reply

  3. Tracy and I have been trying to collaborate on Jumpcut, however, problems and confusion constantly surround us. We can’t seem to find each others photos, let alone edit them. Technology. AAWWWWW!!!! It will be cool once we get through this though.

    Comment by jennstar13 | April 21, 2008 | Reply

  4. Make sure that when you upload the images, you then put them in the editor/timeline, then publish it. Once you publish it, it’s made visible and you can send the URL to each other.

    Comment by funksoup | April 22, 2008 | Reply

  5. Thanks Josephine!

    Tracy and I were able to get through it. I uploaded more photos and changed my settings to public. I don’t know if you have to do this, but this is what I did. Tracy and I are now able to see each others photos. Yeah!!! We are communicating through AIM, which is working like a charm. The project is underway.

    Comment by jennstar13 | April 25, 2008 | Reply

  6. So. Tracy and I are running into more problems. Ahh!! There is some technical glitch where we can’t get to our saved work or share it with others. Or something like that. Tracy knows more than I do. Though I do know I can’t get to my saved work even though I saved it. Tracy says its saved though, but there is a technical error and we can’t retrieve it until she hears back from tech support. Just thought I’d keep everyone updated.

    Comment by jennstar13 | April 30, 2008 | Reply

  7. We had to start all over again. Each time I added an audio file the link stopped working. We are now in the process of remixing everything. Stay tuned….

    Comment by tra2008 | May 3, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

