Intro to Networked Collaboration

Second Life Experience

I had never been on Second Life so this experience was my first time.  It was a lot of fun, though at times VERY frustrating.  Everything was pretty well organized, however, I would find myself clicking buttons and then not being able to find my way back.  For example, I took my shirt off to see what would happen.  Naturally, my shirt came off, but unnaturally, I couldn’t just put it right back on.  Well, I could, but I didn’t know how to do it.  I spent too much time trying to figure out how to do it, but what was so funny is that I was embarrassed to see others without my shirt on.  As if it actually mattered.  LOL

I took my places I visited from the SL visit list.  I went to resonating with second life, this is where the windmill turbans are in space and the wind makes them resonate with different tones.  Very cool!  Then I went to BonnyDoon, which was a beautiful garden.  I enjoyed looking at the exquisite plants and stone statues.  I followed a waterfall and river to find a secret garden with drums, that yes I played wonderfully.  I like the interactive features of being able to touch things, sit down, see closer, etc.  I did have some trouble editing my appearance and a lot of trouble with flying.  How the hell do you control flying?  I always got out of control and ended up flying off the island and off into nowhere and then second life would disconnect me.  This is what happened far too often when I was at my third location Cyber punk city.  I just kept flying off the island because it was difficult to get around on foot.  Overall, it was very fun and cool.

March 22, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. This was my first time on Second Life before too. I’d vaguely heard of it before, and thought it kind of sounded like The Sims or something like that. It was interesting and the whole experience bore alot of questions, at least within me.

    It’s interesting to see the lengths developers go to enable you to do just about anything, and with detail. (It’s kind of scary). The whole experience was almost creepy for me. It’s an interesting juxtaposition and escape, to create an alternate reality almost.

    Comment by seth81 | March 27, 2008 | Reply

  2. I had read and heard about SecondLife many times before actually creating account for this class. My initial reaction was one of confusion when I read that people were paying real money for virtual land, clothing, furniture etc. I didn’t understand why anyone would want to do that. Then I thought it was like a video game come to life where you could personalize your experience in any way you wanted.

    While in SecondLife my first visit was to the Spaceport Alpha. It was pretty cool to see how much effort had gone into creating the environment. From the rockets to the event spaces for lectures, it was pretty cool although I was the only person there. I expected more people to be around. Second, I visited the Star Trek Museum which was also well done. I was amazed to see all the different exhibits set up as if in a “real” museum. This time around there were plenty more people looking around. The last two places I visited were the Carnival and Supermarket. The Carnival was cool because I was actually able to ride the Merry go round, I would’ve played more but the other rides or games required that you pay “real” money. The Supermarket wasn’t as user friendly. I just flew around looking at everything from above, what I did notice were the “real” products like Kraft Macaroni and Cheese. Gotta love those ad placements!!!

    Comment by tra2008 | March 30, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

