Intro to Networked Collaboration

Introductions

Hi, all! Welcome to the blog for the Introduction to Networked Collaboration class at the New School. We will introduce the concepts of social media and collaboration within networked environments and look at the effects that networked environments have had on our exchanges, the hybrid models of communication that have developed, and the emergent process of networked collaboration.
Please introduce yourself by adding a comment below and let the networking begin… ~Josephine
ps: if you add a comment and don’t see it display immediately, it’s because your first comment to the blog needs to be approved so as to prevent spammers (once you’re “approved” subsequent comments will not need approval)
January 22, 2008 - Posted by | introductions | , ,

14 Comments »

  1. Hi, all. I’m Josephine, your instructor, and here’s a bit about me.
    The short version: I’m a media artist, director, performer and educator. I like to dance and make noise and pictures and it’s especially cool when I can make them with electricity and numbers, and then send them over the ether. I also like to jump out of planes.

    The long version:
    Josephine Dorado is a New York-based media artist, performer and social entrepreneur. In her work, she explores the extension of the performance environment with technology, often utilizing movement-based, sensor-driven synthesis and networked telepresence. She is also interested in the process of cultural exchange through creative interplay in virtual spaces, which led to founding ZoomLab and initiating the Kidz Connect program, which connects students internationally via creative collaboration in virtual worlds such as Second Life. Josephine currently teaches at the New School, where she received her M.A. in Media Studies in 2006. She was a Fulbright scholarship recipient and an artist-in-residence at the Waag Society for Old and New Media in Amsterdam, Netherlands, and continues her involvement with Fulbright as a member of the Board of Directors. Performances include interdisciplinary productions for the ISEA and Romaeuropa Festivals as well as speaking engagements at SIGGRAPH, Queen’s University in Belfast, and London Knowledge Lab. Upcoming ventures include Fractor, for which a MacArthur Foundation award was received, and several mixed reality projects involving dance theater, motion capture analysis and Second Life performance. Josephine’s experience ranging from theater for at-risk children to technology and design, brings perspectives on theater-inspired collaborative methodologies as well as the issues of working within a virtual context.

    Nice to meet everyone!

    Comment by funksoup | January 22, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hi everyone. I’ve been taking classes at The New School for a few years now and work at a media company. Considering that everyone is connecting in so many “hi-tech” ways these days, I thought it would be advantageous for me to learn how they do it. I look forward to learning and networking will all of you. Be well.

    Comment by tra2008 | January 23, 2008 | Reply

  3. Hi, I’m Tim. This is my first class at the New School. I have been in the publishing industry for more than twenty years. I have managed portfolios of both print and online products, and most recently have developed online content and workflow products for attorneys. In the past, most of the content for these products has been written by experts, however, we are beginning to see a demand for the incorporation of social networking into online interfaces for attorneys (i.e., an attorney’s blog, a message board to share information about particular actions, etc.) and other professionals. So, I’m not only interested in the societal implications, but also the business applications of social networking. I’m looking forward to blogging with all of you.

    Comment by tim88 | January 25, 2008 | Reply

  4. Hey everyone! My name is Jenn and I am very excited to get started interacting with all of you virtually. I am a junior at the New School and I have a two year degree from an acting conservatory here in NYC. Though I love the arts, I also love business and utilizing technology. I am taking this class because I plan on launching some of my own projects, (virtually as well as physical store fronts) and I want to learn all about the opportunities and tools I have at my fingertips to use to my advantage. I hope to use this information to help represent and express myself fully and accurately. I look forward to the exciting months ahead. Cheers!

    Comment by jennstar13 | January 26, 2008 | Reply

  5. Hi Everyone,

    My name is Sophie and I’m a senior here at the New School’s resident undergrad college, Lang. I am concentrating in Journalism and Nonfiction, and though I have thoroughly enjoyed the magazines at which I’ve interned, I’m very interested in the world of blogs and online communication, and this class seemed like a great medium in which to learn more.

    It’s nice to “meet” everyone!

    Comment by sophiefriedman | January 27, 2008 | Reply

  6. Hi,

    I am Jennifer and live in NYC. I “do” online media for a living and am also a musician. I am taking this class for both personal and professional development.

    Comment by jenerationnyc | January 31, 2008 | Reply

  7. Hello everyone! I hope I’m not in WAY over my head. I graduated from Parsons in Fashion Design in 95 (while I never completed but almost a BA at Lang), and have been teaching fashion at Parsons since 1997. I haven’t taken any courses at all since the birth of my kids who are 6 and 7. It’s so exciting to be studying again, and just looking around throught the resources I feel like universes are being opened up to me!! But i’m in way over my head!! Every page leads to 100 more links which lead to 100 more links, I run off in a hundred directions and forget where I started out!
    I received a top of the line laptop when I got “kicked out” of my office on campus, so I finally have access to all of this technology that I have been avoiding all of these years. I’m building an online course which is usually a studio art course with live models and demonstrations, so I wanted to become more aware of the endless possibilities of media and networking outside of “Blackboard”. I wanted to envision the course with as few barriers as possible. I started homeschooling (well, unschooling) my 2 kids (and I’m a single mom,) 3 months ago, and I can see the implications of media in that environment. I was amazed to see the family of 6 , the Olivers, on the Learning to Love you MOre website, and how they completed all of the assignments. It’s so exciting to have these venues for sharing art and ideas out there. So many souls to touch each other unexpectedly!! I’m a musician , mostly Brazilian music of all kinds, and lots of dancing and performances I’ve participated in. I’m fluent in Portuguese so I’d like to explore Brazil more through the media online since I can’t seem to get my physical body there. It takes me more than 2 hours to get to campus from home, so I’m ecstatic to be able to access this course online. I wanted to apply for the masters in media, so I thought this also would orient me to the concentration. Nice to meet you!

    Comment by lulola | January 31, 2008 | Reply

  8. Hi,
    My name is Diabel Faye. I have been in New School since 2003 but- for the last two and half years- I have been living in Germany. Naturally, I am very thankful to the online classes. Like many of you, I have worked most of my life and now I am catching on the academic thing. Even though, currently, I am working in the offshore oil and gas world, doing research for a service company, I have worked- up until I moved to Germany (I do not know for how long)- in the media and music industry. Currently I am setting up- what I would call a multi media company/record company. It is my dream to turn it into a highbrid media interface, merging audiovisual, images, and text. I would like to collaborate with friends and colleagues to achieve the highbridity I am talking about. I am sure I will learn something here.
    Thanks to all
    I am looking forward.

    Comment by diabel | February 1, 2008 | Reply

  9. Hey Everyone!

    Does anyone know where we get the reading excerpts for week 3? They are not from our books (I don’t think) and there is no web link next to them. I would love to hear back from someone.

    Thanks!
    Jenn

    Comment by jennstar13 | February 4, 2008 | Reply

  10. Hi, Jenn — Good question! I just posted an answer to our Google group too. The readings are posted within the “Files” section of the Google group, so you can download them from there.

    Comment by funksoup | February 5, 2008 | Reply

  11. Hello, My name is Seth, please excuse my tardy introduction. I live in Austin and guest teach around the school district. This is my second year at New School, and my 7th year as an undergraduate. I’m studying for a BA in general Liberal Arts before I move on the graduate school and get specific. I like music, art, film, mexican food, and records.

    Cheers

    Comment by seth81 | February 6, 2008 | Reply

  12. Hey guys!

    I am wondering how I post my Flickr URL to the class wiki. I’m not sure what this even consist of. I am learning so much. Looking forward to hearing from someone soon. Thanks!

    Jenn

    Comment by jennstar13 | February 8, 2008 | Reply

  13. Comment by jennstar13 | February 8, 2008 | Reply

  14. I just posted one photo link from my flickr acct up above. Is that what I’m supposed to do? Is there a place where I am supposed to put the actual photo? Or is the link what we’re looking for? Thanks!

    -Jenn

    Comment by jennstar13 | February 8, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

